Published May 19, 2022

Senators Demanding FDA Explanation on Failures that Caused Baby Formula Shortages

Written by
The Dakotan
| The Dakotan
Empty shelves of infant formula in Minot. [Photo: Kim Fundingsland/The Dakotan]
Empty shelves of infant formula in Minot. [Photo: Kim Fundingsland/The Dakotan]

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Senator Kevin Cramer (R-ND) joined Senators Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS) and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) in demanding answers from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regarding its inadequate investigation into Abbott Nutrition’s Michigan manufacturing facility and failure to mitigate the nationwide baby formula shortage. The senators are also seeking answers regarding when the White House was made aware of the dire situation and the steps available to limit the harmful impact on families and their newborns.

The senators stressed the desperation felt by families with infant children and expressed frustration in the lack of urgent action to resolve this crisis in a new letter to FDA Commissioner Robert Califf, M.D.

“Infant formula supplies at local grocery stores were relatively stable for the first half of 2021. The out-of-stock percentage started to climb steadily in the later half and continued to worsen throughout this year. It’s concerning that FDA and key officials in the Administration did not anticipate this crisis or take action within days following Abbott Nutrition’s voluntary recall considering the company holds 48.1 percent of the U.S. market in infant formula. Families are getting to the brink of pursuing unsafe and potentially dangerous options to feed their infants including homemade infant formula. And physicians are, once again, running defense on misinformation due to a lack of federal action to get the word out on safe alternatives,” wrote the senators.

Joining Senators Cramer, Marshall, and Capito are Senators Susan Collins (R-ME), Mike Braun (R-IN), John Barrasso, M.D. (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), John Boozman (R-AR), Bill Cassidy, M.D. (R-LA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Tim Scott (R-SC), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), John Thune (R-SD), James Lankford (R-OK), Steve Daines (R-MT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Roy Blunt (R-MO), and John Kennedy (R-LA).

Click here to read the letter.

Stay connected to the latest news
Subscription Form (#3)

About the Author

Trending Now
The Dakotan Newsletter
Subscribe to get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox
Newsletter Form (#4)
© AndMuse, LLC 2024 Login Email
LIVE: 2022 Minot Mayoral Forum
Click to Watch Live
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram