Published March 8, 2024

A Cry for Freedom

Written by
The Dakotan
| The Dakotan

Minot Symphony release

MINOT – The Minot Symphony Orchestra presents “A Cry for Freedom" March 17th with Musicology (the study of music) at 6 pm and music at 7pm in MSU’s Ann Nicole Nelson Hall.
The program will open with Gershwin’s Concerto in F for Piano and Orchestra featuring the winner of the
annual MSU Honors Competition, Kevin Vandal. Vandal is from Perth, ND, and is in his third year studying piano performance with Dr. Dianna Anderson at Minot State University. Since attending MSU, he has also studied and performed as an organist, appearing with the MSU Concert Choir and the Minot Symphony Orchestra. He serves as a collaborative pianist for the Western Plains Opera Company and is also a freelance piano instructor. Vandal made his debut with the MSO in 2021 when he was the winner of the annual high school Young Artist Soloist Competition.
The Minot Chamber Chorale as well as four internationally acclaimed soloists: Teresa Eickel, soprano; Toby
Newman, mezzo-soprano; Barry Banks, tenor; and Jason Thoms, baritone will join the symphony for the ND premiere of an original work by MSU Director of Choral Activities, Emerson Eads. His Mass for the Oppressed, a setting of the Ordinary of the Mass featuring textual interpolations by his brother Evan Eads, and a Credo adapted from the diary of Pope Francis before his ordination, holds particular poignancy for the social issues of our time. The Mass was written for the release of the Fairbanks Four (native Alaskan’s from the composer’s hometown) who spent 18 years in prison wrongfully. His cantata “…from which your laughter rises.” for mezzo-soprano, oboe, and orchestra, was written for the mothers of the Fairbanks Four. Eads will conduct the musicians for his MSO premiere.
The Minot Chamber Chorale, a local volunteer mixed chorus, features over 50 area vocalists. The group was founded in 1972 to fill an unmet need in the community — a mixed chorus to present quality choral literature. The group is well known throughout the community for its annual Renaissance Feast.
The performance will also conclude with Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 and Jean Sibelius: Finlandia.
Live and livestream adult tickets are $25-40 with senior, student, child, and military discounts available. All
tickets are available at www.minotsymphony.com or through the box office at 701-858-4228. Patrons are
encouraged to purchase tickets in advance.
Musicology, the study of music, will begin 1 hour before the concert starts. Concertgoers are encouraged to attend this 30-minute engaging overview of the works being performed, the story behind the music, the composer, and historical context presented by Dr. Charles Young, principal clarinet.
The Minot Symphony Orchestra is a unique blend of student, community, and professional musicians from the Minot area. The symphony is directed by Maestro Efraín Amaya, Associate Professor of Performing Arts at Minot State University.

Stay connected to the latest news
Subscription Form (#3)

About the Author

Trending Now
The Dakotan Newsletter
Subscribe to get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox
Newsletter Form (#4)
© AndMuse, LLC 2024 Login Email
LIVE: 2022 Minot Mayoral Forum
Click to Watch Live
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram