Merry Christmas from The Dakotan!
Published October 3, 2022

Nonprofit Alliance to Recognize Winners 

Written by
The Dakotan
| The Dakotan

Nominations are now open  

MINOT – Nominations are being accepted for the Minot Alliance of Nonprofits fourth annual Community Recognition Luncheon now through October 5th .  

“The Minot Alliance of Nonprofit membership represents agencies from every sector and size of nonprofit in our community. This group benefits every citizen in our region and this event is an opportunity to celebrate the phenomenal work done,” explains Jill McDonald, Executive Director Domestic Violence Crisis Center and co-president of the Minot Alliance of Nonprofits. 

 Awards will be presented in six categories: Emerging Leader, Outstanding Board Member of the Year, Most Impactful Business of the Year, Dr. Lowell Latimer Nonprofit Lifetime Achievement Award, Nonprofit Leader of the Year and Alliance of Nonprofits Organization of the Year. Nomination forms can be found online at https://www.facebook.com/MinotNonprofits.  

The Emerging Leader Award honors newer nonprofit leaders who have already made a significant contribution to the sector and have demonstrated the potential for leadership and continuing service. This may be a nonprofit employee, board member, or volunteer. This must be an individual who has been a leader of their organization for less than five (5) years. Past Winners (not eligible): 2019 Drew Hanson (Prairie Grit Adaptive Sports), 2020 Taylor Heine (Independence, Inc.), and 2021 Liz Larsen (Project BEE).  

The Outstanding Board Member of the Year honors an individual who effectively serves as a community ambassador of their nonprofit, demonstrates great judgment when making decisions, assists in fundraising and fund development, provides skills and knowledge to make nonprofit better, and serves as an example to other board members. 

The Most Impactful Business of the Year Award will shine a light on a for-profit business that has shown excellence in philanthropy and other support of the nonprofit community. The business can help one or many nonprofits, and the impact of the business should be significant in helping nonprofits achieve their mission.  

The Dr. Lowell Latimer Nonprofit Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual (employee, board member, or volunteer) who has, for at least twenty (20) years, who’s contribution has consistently resulted in a positive impact for the nonprofit sector, goes above and beyond to uplift the nonprofit sector, demonstrated a willingness to work with others and assist whenever needed or requested, has been a positive role model for others, and displayed exceptional dependability. This award is named after one of our founding members Dr. Lowell Latimer, who dedicated a lifetime to making our community stronger. Past Award Winners (ineligible for future awards) include: Dr. Lowell Latimer (2019), Louis “Mac” McLeod (2020), and Shelly Weppler (2021).  

The Nonprofit Leader of the Year honors a nonprofit leader who effectively demonstrates commitment to the nonprofit sector and who enhances the success and knowledge of others. The nonprofit leader will have ensured the mission of the organization created maximum community impact. This must be a nonprofit employee who has led their organization for more than five (5) years. Previous winners (not eligible for 3 years) include: Scott Burlingame (Independence, Inc.), Roger Reich (Minot Commission on Aging), and Jill McDonald (DVCC). 

 The Alliance of Nonprofits Organization of the Year honors the member organization that is most deserving of this award for their activities during the past 12 months. Nominees must be a current member of the Alliance and chosen from the list on the nomination form.  

Anyone may submit a nomination for these awards. Nominations must clearly document why the candidate should be considered, above all others, for these distinguished awards. All nominations must contain sufficient information to inform the selection committee of the nominee. The Alliance of Nonprofits fourth annual Alliance of Nonprofits Community Recognition Luncheon will be held on Thursday, November 10th from 11:30 am – 1:00 pm at the Grand Hotel, 1505 North Broadway in Minot. Tickets are available for $25 each at www.eventbrite.com.  

The luncheon will recognize area nonprofit organizations, board members and leaders. Dana Hager, Executive Director of the North Dakota Association of Nonprofit Organizations (NDANO), will be the featured keynote speaker.  

It only takes one person, one step, one action, to make a change. It is the distinct honor of the Alliance of Nonprofits to recognize the outstanding individuals, businesses and organizations who make a positive contribution to the Minot community at this year’s Alliance of Nonprofits Recognition Luncheon. 

Stay connected to the latest news
Subscription Form (#3)

About the Author

Trending Now
The Dakotan Newsletter
Subscribe to get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox
Email Sign-up (Just email - vertical)
© The Dakotan 2023 Login Email
LIVE: 2022 Minot Mayoral Forum
Click to Watch Live
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram