Published February 23, 2022

Hoeven, Cramer Call on Treasury to Help Auto Dealerships Handle Inflation, Supply Chain Shortages

Written by
The Dakotan
| The Dakotan
United States Capitol, Washington, D.C. [Photo: Nicole DesRosier/The Dakotan]
United States Capitol, Washington, D.C. [Photo: Nicole DesRosier/The Dakotan]

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senators John Hoeven (R-N.D.) and Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.) joined Senator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) in urging the U.S. Department of the Treasury to use its existing authority to provide temporary and targeted relief to the automobile industry as dealerships struggle with inflation and inventory shortages amidst ongoing supply chain disruptions. In the letter, the senators outline the importance of a strong economic recovery for the auto industry, which plays a critical role in our nation’s economic health, and alleviating the impact of pandemic-related global supply-chain disruptions.

“As the country continues to confront severe supply-chain disruptions, we write to express strong concerns that the Treasury Department has yet to use its existing authority to provide timely relief to auto retailers using the last-in, first-out (LIFO) method of inventory accounting,” the senators wrote. “Treasury’s inaction comes despite the unprecedented pandemic-related interruption of global supply chains that is severely curtailing vehicle production due to the ongoing shortage of semiconductors.”

In addition to Hoeven and Scott, this letter was signed by Senators Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.) and James Inhofe (R-Okla.).

Click here for the full letter.

Stay connected to the latest news
Subscription Form (#3)

About the Author

Trending Now
The Dakotan Newsletter
Subscribe to get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox
Newsletter Form (#4)
© AndMuse, LLC 2024 Login Email
LIVE: 2022 Minot Mayoral Forum
Click to Watch Live
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram