Published May 2, 2022

Senators Help Introduce Resolution to Repeal Biden Administration's Policy to Upend Asylum Process

Written by
The Dakotan
| The Dakotan

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer recently joined Senator Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) in introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) Joint Resolution of Disapproval to dissolve a proposed Biden administration rule that would upend the process by which the U.S. government grants asylum claims. Under current law, asylum claims must be adjudicated by an immigration court judge, and asylum seekers must be detained throughout the adjudication process. The rule being proposed by the Biden administration would permit migrants crossing the border illegally who claim asylum to have their asylum application approved by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) officials, not immigration judges, and to not be detained while their application is pending.   

“The Biden administration is encouraging individuals to not only cross our border illegally but also removing the ability to detain them,” said Hoeven. “The number of illegal migrants crossing the southern border is already at a record high, and this rule would only make the situation at our southern border worse.”

“The Biden Administration’s incompetence in handling the crisis they themselves created at the southern border is astounding. This new asylum rule will make the border crisis worse and endanger legal American citizens across the country. Border security needs to be a top priority for the Biden Administration, but instead, they insist on opening the southern border to anyone who wishes to cross. Our resolution puts a necessary and timely check on the executive branch and protects against future surges of migrants illegally entering the United States,” said Cramer.

In addition to Hoeven, Cramer, and Johnson, the CRA was introduced by Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

Click here to read the resolution.

Stay connected to the latest news
Subscription Form (#3)

About the Author

Trending Now
The Dakotan Newsletter
Subscribe to get the latest news delivered straight to your inbox
Newsletter Form (#4)
© AndMuse, LLC 2024 Login Email
LIVE: 2022 Minot Mayoral Forum
Click to Watch Live
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram